11
Mar
09

When should HAART be initiated in asymptomatic HIV+ patients?

Medical doctors and HIV researches Mari Kitahata and Jonathan Sterne presented the results of several studies addressing this complex question at the 16th Annual Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections, which was held on February 9, 2009. 

Recently updated U.S. guidelines recommend initiating HAART (highly active antiretroviral therapy) in all asymptomatic HIV positive patients with a CD4 count of less than 350.  Kitahata and Stern, in this presentation/interview, review emerging data that indicates that introducing therapy even earlier in HIV disease, at CD4 counts greater than 500, could significantly prolong an individual’s survival. 

To read the complete transcript, follow this URL: http://www.thebody.com/content/confs/croi2009/art50496.html

11 Responses to “When should HAART be initiated in asymptomatic HIV+ patients?”


  1. 1 refreshen
    August 6, 2009 at 7:56 am

    I began with AZT only at 29 in 1988,it was all we had then.
    21 years later my Viral Load remains >50 and I have more
    than 500 helper t-cells.
    I believe the sooner the better.

  2. April 18, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Just want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is just great and i could assume you
    are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow
    me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  3. May 1, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    I do consider all the ideas you’ve presented on your post. They’re really convincing
    and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for novices.
    May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for
    the post.

  4. May 5, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  5. May 5, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks , I have recently been looking for info approximately this subject for ages and yours is
    the greatest I have discovered so far. But, what in regards
    to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?

  6. May 6, 2013 at 3:04 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  7. May 14, 2013 at 3:41 am

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in fact was once a amusement account
    it. Glance advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how could we be in
    contact?

  8. June 3, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d
    like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  9. July 3, 2013 at 8:29 am

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive task and our whole group will likely be
    thankful to you.

  10. July 3, 2013 at 11:58 am

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it
    can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  11. July 4, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    This is really interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and sit up for in the hunt for extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks


Leave a Reply

